Wild bee nest

I saw this wild bee nest yesterday and posted it in A French Garden but it may suit this blog better.

a french garden

I’m not sure whether it is technically correct to call this a wild bee nest.   It is definitely bees living in the wild.  Should I call them wild bees or feral bees or even run-away bees (having left their bee keeper never to return), I’m not sure.

Anyway, I have always harboured a desire to see bees doing their own thing as nature intended but I never expected to see it in real life.  But that was before I was talking about bees to our friend Manuel.

Bee nest in the oak

Last autumn there was a violent storm and it brought down an oak tree in some woodland behind vines not far from his house and about two kilometres from our house.  He noticed some bees and found that the tree was hollow but that the nest was now exposed.  The centre of the tree was filled with honey comb.  As time passed…

View original post 283 more words

2 thoughts on “Wild bee nest

    • I’ll look forward to hearing about your bees. If I understand right you have been adopted by a swarm. I think it is so wonderful to see the honeycomb so perfect with no wire to guide them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

