Osmia cornuta male

Carder

I was happily watching the bumble bees on the winter honeysuckle when I saw a much smaller bee that was not a bumble bee.

Back

It was moving much quicker than the bumbles and much more difficult to get a picture of it.

Side eating 2

The problem is that when it sticks its head into the flower it covers up its most distinguishing feature.

Upside down Osmia

Even though he is upside down this photograph shows the white facial hairs of the Osmia cornuta male.  They are visible while he is flying but not so easy to catch for a photograph.

Osmia cornuta male

Sideways on you can see he is slimmer than the females which should be around in another few days.  The temperature has gone up to 21 degrees C in the garden today (8 March 2015) and it was the same temperature yesterday despite overnight lows approaching zero.

I’ve put my bee hotels out today and reminded my husband that he had promised to make me another one this year.

Male Andrena

Our big plum tree is just starting to flower and I saw what I think is a male Andrena on the flowers.

Mandibles

He has prominent mandibles and I wonder whether it could be an Andrena fulva male as I always see the females on my blackcurrant bushes every year.

Solitary bee season seems to have started suddenly now that the rain has stopped and the sun has reappeared.

14 thoughts on “Osmia cornuta male

    • Last weekend it was cold and the rain continued. This weekend it is more like summertime. There are plenty of flowers and blossom on the go. The plant life has reacted as quickly as the bees. Amelia

      Like

  1. Superb photos Amelia, your blossoms and bees are further ahead than here despite a lovely sunny weekend. This is so hopeful too, it makes me feel that we are going to be enjoying sights like this very soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We are having a spell of warm weather. The strangest thing I find over here is that there can be 20 degree differences between the night and daytime temperatures. With the sun it feels even hotter but all the plants seem to take it in their stride. Amelia

      Like

    • I suppose I am cautious not to bore about my winter honeysuckle although I love it and find it such an amazing under-valued shrub. It is actually Lonicera fragrantissima (https://www.rhs.org.uk/plants/details?plantid=4560). Any warm sunny day in winter and you are sure to see bumble bees and enjoy its perfume. It also can be propagated very easily but does not climb or get out of hand like the climbing honeysuckles. I have tried to separate my bee blog from my garden blog “A French Garden” as I was concerned I was showing to many bees in a gardening blog. The plants are very important if you hope to attract the bees so I will try and say more about them in the future. Amelia

      Like

Leave a Reply

